AndyKnillArt News from PAW Day Eight

Saturday June 3rd

A day with many sections. The morning began waking before 6am. Some guests were doing a charity walk starting from Swanage so we were in town before 7 a.m. to drop them off. So a walk and a chance to take photographs in the bay with Pilot Gigs arriving for the Swanage Sea Rowing Club’s rowing regatta. As a club member a little disappointing as I would miss the racing, volunteering but I felt a part as I chatted to fellow rowers on duty. Some of the photographs would hopefully be suitable as drawing material.

So home for studio opening. Another day when lots of walkers came across the studio as they went out towards Houns Tout headland. 32 visitors in total, so my best day so far. I enjoy the chance to talk to people about my art and photography and share my beautiful studio location.

In between visits I also started a new canvas – Before SSRC Regatta 2017. It is based on one of my photos and showcases two of the Swanage wooden Cornish Pilot gigs and also a Stand Up paddleboarder passing. I started with a fineline pen and ink drawing. I used a laptop to zoom into my photo and was able to see how the vegetation for example on Ballard Down has changed. I posted an image of the piece and received favourable feedback from friends on social media. To be completed on Sunday 4th, if I can get the sea area right, quite daunting but this piece shows the progress my work is making.


After the studio closed we went back into Swanage, watched the end of the last gig race and took more photos possibly to use for future pieces.

At the end of today I had been visited by 170 visitors and now taken £200 in sales.

Leave a Reply

